The importance of a good multivitamin

It’s no secret that I am obsessed with the Jillian Michaels podcasts.  I’ve always liked Jillian from the Biggest Loser, but it has not been until listening to her podcasts on my runs that I have truly started to appreciate everything she stands by.  She is so knowledgeable and doesn’t mess around!

One of her segments that I really liked (I love all of them, so that doesn’t mean much) was about the importance of vitamins.  She talked about how in a world where a number of people are vegans and vegetarians there is a huge need for supplementation.  She even said it is not healthy to be vegan or vegetarian if you aren’t supplementing properly.  I don’t fit into either of those categories, but I have been eating significantly less meat lately and do need to start taking supplementation more seriously.

In the past i’ve been good about taking vitamins, but I was always taking the cheap-o vitamins that were on sale at Target.  Jillian Michaels was saying that she gets a lot of questions about which vitamins people should take, and her response is usually “if you can afford it, a proper multivitamin is the way to go.”  She also went on to talk about how the cheap-o multivitamins that are on sale at Target aren’t good enough.  She said that they don’t “absorb” in your body properly (for lack of a better word) along with other things.  It’s important to spend a little more money on a QUALITY multivitamin.  She named off some brands and New Chapter Organics was one of them.

I went on their website, did some research and decided to give it a try.  I have been taking them for only two days now and I already feel a difference.  I admit that I am not the most nutritious eater in the world, so a proper multivitamin is really important for me.  I also realize that just because I am taking a good multivitamin doesn’t mean I should cut out healthy foods because that is the best source of vitamins for our body.  I am really happy with my purchase and I will definitely be taking them for a long time.

Does anyone else out there supplement or take vitamins?  What do you take?

About roadworthrunning

I am a 20-something graduate student pursuing my Doctorate of Audiology. It is a 4 year program, and I am currently in my fourth year, which is an off campus externship year. I will be spending it in a new place, Arizona! I will blog about food, health, exercise and life! Come along with me on my journey.
This entry was posted in Health. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The importance of a good multivitamin

  1. I love jillian’s podcasts too! She is so different than the Jillian they portrayed on Biggest Loser, and the podcasts actually have really good info packed in them!

    I don’t have a multivitamin but I know I need one…. Glad to hear you like this one!

  2. Chuck says:

    Thanks for doing some leg work on the multivitamin thing. I was outside working while listening to the podcast and forgot what some of the recommended brands were.

  3. Barb says:

    I know this is a weird question, but do you remember which pocast Jillian’s recommendation came from? I also started taking New Chapter vitamins after her recommendation, but for the life of me… I can’t find the podcast where she mentions them. Could it have been in her Q&A portion of a podcast? Don’t kill yourself looking for it, a friend asked and I’m trying to get the info for him.

Leave a Reply

