True Life – I’m Single.

I don’t know what it is (cough everyone getting married and having babies), but lately it has really been hitting me hard that i’m single.  To tell you the truth, I have been single for quite a long time, and have become accustomed to it.  I have definitely dated guys, but nothing that has been serious within this past year.  To be honest, I always say that i’m okay being single, and I really truly am, but would I be happier with someone else?  I think so.  I am generally a happy person, so it’s not to say that i’m not happy, but I just feel like something is missing.

I know everyone always says “someone will come along when you least expect it” or  “when you aren’t looking someone will come along,” well, that’s crap.  Sorry, it is.  If you don’t put yourself out there then no one will come along.  You need to be social and meet people in order to, well, meet people!  It is my goal to become social when I move.  I have not been the most social butterfly in the world during grad school, in fact, I really wasn’t very social until the very end when I met a great group of girls who I instantly clicked with. Sometimes I feel like grad school took three years out of my life, but I know that’s not true.  Education is so important in life and I will be grateful for my degree.

Most of my friends are in relationships, which can also be hard.  Of course, I am very happy for them, but it also makes me want to be in a relationship that much more.  I also feel like i’d have way more fun if I was in a relationship.  Lots of people that are dating, date other couples.  To me, that sounds like so much fun.  That’s what I want at this point in my life.  I’m tired of being single!

At the same time, i’m completely content being single and am really truly happy being me.  I love who I am!  This can sometimes lead to being stuck in my own ways though, and that’s never a good thing.  Sometimes I feel like i’ve been single for too long, but then I remember that there is a plan for everyone.

When the time is right, I am confident that the right one will “come along.”  I am grateful for this time that i’ve had to learn and grow as an individual.  I believe it will make me more appreciative in a relationship and in the future.  Until then, i’m going to live it up! 

Is this blog post one big contradiction or what?  It makes sense to me though.

In other, awesome news, I PASSED MY PRAXIS EXAM!  This means that I can get my license in audiology and never have to take another test!  I’m SO happy!!

About roadworthrunning

I am a 20-something graduate student pursuing my Doctorate of Audiology. It is a 4 year program, and I am currently in my fourth year, which is an off campus externship year. I will be spending it in a new place, Arizona! I will blog about food, health, exercise and life! Come along with me on my journey.
This entry was posted in Single, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to True Life – I’m Single.

  1. Errign says:

    I’m single too & living in a new town. It’s hard to be single sometimes and get used to putting myself out there over and over again. I have to believe that the right person will come along regardless of what I’m doing, because I get sort of sick of my routine of trying to find “the one”.

    • the right person WILL come along, it’s just a matter of timing, at least that’s what I believe! I think God has a bigger plan for us! I also don’t really believe in “the one” so to speak…but there are definitely certain people you are compatible with.

      I’m excited that you commented! Thank you! It’s always fun to know that other people are in similar situations, and i’m excited to read your blog!

  2. Kelly says:

    First off, congrats on passing your exam! Major excitement for you!

    Second, this post did make sense. I kind of saw it as you saying that you like who you are and you want to meet someone who can share a relationship while still being yourself. I love my husband dearly but I don’t believe we are soulmates. I don’t believe in soul mates. I think there are thousands of people we are compatable with and can make a life with. To me, the true romance comes from saying I am willing to give up all my other options to be with you. And it is true that you have to be social to meet people…it isn’t as easy as just “waiting for the one.” Hang in there! 😉

  3. Cait's Plate says:

    YAY for passing the praxis!! That’s so exciting – way more exciting than wedding and babies 😉

  4. Kristine I wanted to congratulate you again on passing the Praxis test!
    I am so excited for you to move to AZ (at least for a year). I am celebrating my one year in Arizona at the end of the month and I know that some awesome things are in store for you in the coming year. I learned so much about myself in this year. It has had it’s ups and downs (yes, some related to men!) but looking back at the larger picture , I can appreciate the amazingness of this time.
    Also, I completely understand this post. Even if it is a gaint circle 🙂 I love the life I have made for myself and honestly am happy but I also admit I think I would be even more happy with someone to love that loves me back.

  5. Raya says:

    Congrats on the exam! I’m single as well and have been for a long time too! In fact, I feel like I could have written this post word for word and not changed a thing-that’s how true it rang for my life!!! But I would also rather be single than be with the wrong person.

    And don’t you worry, AZ is a blast!! I’m curious about this art class? Is it painting? I think I suck at painting but I’ve always wanted to try.

    • haha awesome that makes me happy! Yay for being single in the same city…lets live it up!

      I haven’t heard back about the art class yet, but i’ll let you know! I think it’s painting! I need the details! 🙂

  6. Kayla says:

    thanks for your comment! i love finding out that new people (or just people in general) are reading my blog!
    and it’s so great and so sweet that my posts are somewhat relate-able. sometimes i feel like i’m the only person going through these dumb, silly situations 🙂
    glad you’ve de-lurked, but i sure wouldn’t have minded (nor known) if you had remained anon 😉

Leave a Reply

