Ways to keep busy

I just got back from a short visit in New York, which was awesome!  My dad works in New York during the week, so we have a condo there.  My parents also grew up in New York and it is where the majority of my family/relatives live so I get to visit a lot!  During this visit, I got together with my college roommate for a little while and it was so nice to catch up!  I don’t have any pictures of our current visit, but here is one of us from our senior year (Erin’s in the red, and i’m in the blue, Sarah is in the black who was our other roomie)!

Also, I got together with some family members for my grandma’s birthday.  It was fun to hang out with my cousins.  We had a lot of fun going through pictures from our childhood and laughing.  My cousins and I were all really close and still are!

On an unrelated note, I have been thinking about ways to keep myself busy when I move to Arizona.  I am nervous about not knowing many people and becoming a hermit in my apartment (which could easily happen if  don’t branch out and meet people).  Here are some of the groups or ways that I will get involved:

1.  Take an art class.  I am already being proactive with this and have researched classes to take.  With the help of twitter, I found a talented artist who will be having classes Wednesday night.  I can’t wait!  I’ve always loved arts and crafts, but haven’t done any in years, so this will be fun for me.

2.  Join a running club.  I already did this, but it will be a challenge for me to wake up and meet them saturday mornings at 5 AM.  Dang you Arizona heat!

3.  Volunteer.  I just sent out a few emails to organizations where I can volunteer.  The main one being Make-A-Wish.  I really hope they accept me and I can volunteer with them.  It’s an organization close to my heart.

4.  Network, go out of my confort zone, be social and branch out.  No explanation needed!

Does anyone else have any ideas of ways to become involved in a community?

About roadworthrunning

I am a 20-something graduate student pursuing my Doctorate of Audiology. It is a 4 year program, and I am currently in my fourth year, which is an off campus externship year. I will be spending it in a new place, Arizona! I will blog about food, health, exercise and life! Come along with me on my journey.
This entry was posted in Arizona, Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ways to keep busy

  1. Great ideas! I would love to hear more about the art class. I’ve really enjoyed taking cooking classes… Not sure where you’ll be in the Valley but check out Sweet Basil if you’re interested!

    Sounds like we need to plan an AZ bloggers meet- up too! Or at least we can meet up if you’re interested!

    Enjoy your holiday weekend!!

    • Thanks! Once I find out more information about the art class I will definitely let you know. A cooking class sounds awesome too…I could definitely use lessons…ha! 🙂 I’ll be working in phoenix but living in Tempe. Where are you? I DEFINITELY want to meet up! 🙂 I’m excited!

Leave a Reply

