My body doesn’t hurt!

*KNOCK ON WOOD!*

I feel like this whole summer, i’ve been kicking it up a notch in exercise.  Generally for the past YEARS all i’ve been doing is running.  I never really cross trained, strength trained, or anything else for that matter.  I mostly just ran 5 to 6 miles about 6 days a week.

Well, that got boring after awhile, and I vowed to myself to pick it up a notch this summer, which has in turn lead to body pain.  I’ve been incorporating hill “sprints” into my work out which I have loved.  I live in a hilly neighborhood, and have the perfect hill here to run up and down until my heart is content.  Oh how I will miss that when I move.  After my first hill regimen, I woke up the next day with a sore behind.  Oww!  I knew this was something I wanted to keep up with, so I have been doing hills once or twice a week.  It’s such a nice break from typical running.

I also have been adding in some free weights (I have 8 lb. weights at home), and abs.  I think this is what has lead to the bulk of my soreness.  It feels so good to lift weights, and I can already feel the difference.  I can’t believe that i haven’t been incorporating weights into my life for the past 4 years that i’ve been running.  I really hope I keep up with them!

With all this “newness” in my life, I feel as though my mileage has decreased because I have had less of a drive to run, but my body has been oh-so-sore and I feel in shape.  I’ve been stretching a lot and using the foam roller.  Has anyone out there used a foam roller before?  It hurts so good.

Today is the first day  I woke up and have not been so sore I can barely move.  I’m sure that will change tomorrow, because I am planning a hill work out today, but for now I am soaking it up while I can!

In other news, over the weekend I went to dinner with my parents to a fabulous restaurant called Via.  I had been there before, but recently my mom went with a friend and loved it and said that we needed to go back with my dad.  She is right.  It is fairly close to our house and has the most delicious menu and food.  I ordered the eggplant, prosciutto, and fig pizza and oh.my.gosh it seriously might have been the best pizza ever!  I wish I got a picture, but the crust was crispy thin and the flavor combination was just right!  I am craving it as I type this, at 8:20 am.

Here is a picture of my mom and I at the restaurant:

About roadworthrunning

I am a 20-something graduate student pursuing my Doctorate of Audiology. It is a 4 year program, and I am currently in my fourth year, which is an off campus externship year. I will be spending it in a new place, Arizona! I will blog about food, health, exercise and life! Come along with me on my journey.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My body doesn’t hurt!

  1. Cait's Plate says:

    Yay for not feeling sore!! That’s the best. I’ve been recently getting back into a more routine exercise schedule and I’ve definitely been feeling the soreness from it. It’s JUST started to wane a bit so hopefully I’m a week or so away from ALSO having sore-free muscles 😉

  2. First of all, LOVE your dress! Secondly, I love foam rollers!! I just used one the other day over my whole lower body (after a lot of working out) – Heaven!

  3. A-That pizza sounds amazing.
    B-Loving the dress!
    C-You look so much like your mother. Both of you are gorgeous!

  4. Joanne Hunt says:

    It was a fun evening, indeed. Oh, how I’m going to miss that over the next year. So glad you are doing other exercises now. That foam roller kills! Love, Mom

  5. awww, you and your mom are too cute!!! ; )

Leave a Reply

