Sharon Timlin 5K

This morning, with my dad and Briana, we ran the Sharon Timlin 5K in my home town!  We knew going into it that there would be hills, so we knew not to start off too fast.  I am used to hills because I grew up in a really hilly town, and I also have massive calves that I think make me better at hills.  I knew the course pretty well, and knew that when there’s an uphill, there will also be a downhill, so that made me more motivated to speed up the hills!

This is the start line:

We started off at a good pace, and then I picked up speed throughout.  I think I ran the last mile faster than the rest of the course, because I knew that it would be mostly flat and I knew that part of the course really well.  I was a sweaty mess at the end, and I really pushed as hard as I felt I could.

I finished in 24:26, and 10th in my age group out of 128.  I am proud!

The race was REALLY well run, and afterwards there were a bunch of tents set up with free samples and food.  There was also a line to wait in to get Mike Timlin’s autograph and a picture with him.  He is a Red Sox player!

Afterwards, we wanted to show Bri the start of the Boston Marathon.  Bri is a great runner, and has run marathons, and it is her goal to some day run THE Boston Marathon!  I’ve never really appreciated the fact that I grew up in the town where the race starts until recently.

I can pretend, right?!

What a fun way to start a Saturday!

About roadworthrunning

I am a 20-something graduate student pursuing my Doctorate of Audiology. It is a 4 year program, and I am currently in my fourth year, which is an off campus externship year. I will be spending it in a new place, Arizona! I will blog about food, health, exercise and life! Come along with me on my journey.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sharon Timlin 5K

  1. Congratulations!!!! Great pictures! I really wish I were more of a runner!

  2. Briana says:

    You are amazing 🙂 It was such a pleasure to run, errr, try to catch up with you this morning! You’re an inspiration to me, and I’m going to miss you so much.

  3. Joanne Hunt says:

    Enjoyed reading this alot, and enjoyed spending the time and watching you on Saturday even more! 🙂

Leave a Reply

