Podcasts and the Picky Eater

My wonderful roommate, err ex-roommate, introduced me to the idea of listening to podcasts while running.  I am the odd girl that runs all the time without listening to anything, not even music.  I don’t know why I have always done that, but it just seemed to work for me!  It was a chance for me to completely disconnect from the world, and just be in my own thoughts.

Two days ago I went for a run with my cute new little ipod nano and decided to listen to a Jillian Michaels podcast.  It.was.awesome.  It made the run go by so quickly, and it was so informative.  A lot of the things she talks about are about losing weight (which i’m not trying to do) and being healthy in general.

In the last one I listened to, she talked about how children are likely unhealthy and have poor eating habits because of their parents.  I don’t have kids (obviously) and I honestly don’t know very many kids, but a lot of the things she said really stuck with me.  In order to have healthy kids, we have to lead by example.  We have to be healthy ourselves.  I consider myself pretty healthy, but I definitely have a LOT of work I could do to become more healthy.  I want to start eating more fruits and more vegetables, and not turning my nose at many certain foods.  I’ve never really considered myself to be a picky eater until hanging out with friends that will literally eat anything.  It made me realize that I need to broaden my horizons with food.

Another thing she talked about was the power of the mind when it comes to food.  If we are told that something is “healthy” or “gross” as kids, most likely we aren’t going to like it.  If we, as leaders, tell our kids that healthy foods are delicious, they will be more inclined to try it, and even like it.  I know a lot of parents have a hard time trying to get their kids to try certain foods, so they used the example of talking to them at “their level.”  Tell them about one of their favorite superheroes, and how in order to get big and strong like ____, you have to eat whole grains, vegetables, etc.

I know there are definitely limitations and that not everyone’s circumstances are the same, but I thought that this is definitely some food for thought, pun intended.  It will be interesting to go back and listen to these podcasts when I some day have kids.  If podcasts aren’t totally done away with at that time!  Sigggh!

About roadworthrunning

I am a 20-something graduate student pursuing my Doctorate of Audiology. It is a 4 year program, and I am currently in my fourth year, which is an off campus externship year. I will be spending it in a new place, Arizona! I will blog about food, health, exercise and life! Come along with me on my journey.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Food, Health, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

