Roommates, Crafts and Food

I have never lived alone before, ever.  In fact, I have had more roommates than the average person.  I had one roommate my freshman year (for the entire year) and we were lucky and got along great and were similar in many ways.  I transferred my sophomore year of school to a much bigger university.  That year, the school decided to overbook the students and ran out of housing.  Transfer students were left to stay in hotels.  I stayed in  a hotel for the first couple of months of school (which was torture) and I had a roommate there, who was never really there.  I moved on campus, and had a different roommate for the rest of that semester.  After the semester was over, I was unhappy with my living situation and moved to a different part of campus where I had a different roommate.  Some of these roommates were great, and others not-so-great, but i’ll keep that a secret.  My junior year of college, I moved into a sorority house, and had LOTS of roommates, haha!  I was really unhappy living there though, and decided to move back on campus to the brand new apartments just built, and had 3 different roommates at the time (we each had our own room).  My senior year, I moved back into the same room, but had 2 different roommates and one was the same.  I lost count of all those roommates.

Now, fast forward to grad school.  In my three years of grad school I had 3 different roommates.  The first two were okay, and my last one was fabulous.  That’s a different story for a different time though, but I kind of like her a lot.

I don’t really know why I am talking about all of my roommates, but the point is that I have always lived with people since I was 18, always.  In a month, I am going to be living by myself.  Completely alone.  In some ways, I am excited for this, and in other ways i’m nervous!  I have always liked having someone there with me, even if I didn’t like that person too much.  I am lucky because I will be working a lot, so I won’t be home much, but it is going to be a weird adjustment to be completely alone.  I am going to need to find things to do to distract myself and keep me busy.

Enter crafts and food.  I have always loved doing crafts and eating food.  I have decided to add these two things to my list of hobbies (errrrr running).  I am going to become more crafty and make more trips to the craft store, and read more craft blogs.  I am really excited for this.  When I was little, all I ever wanted to do was crafts.  As I grew up, I started to deem myself as less creative than I originally thought, but really I still love the idea of sitting down and doing crafts.  I want to make my apartment cute, and this will be a perfect addition to my hobbies.

Now for food.  I love food, I have always loved food.  I have NOT always loved to cook.  I like simple things, and even with all of those roommates, I have always done my own thing for food.  I don’t like buying lots of ingredients, so I have always eaten the same foods over and over again, that are nice and easy to make for one person (heating a frozen burrito up in the microwave DOES count as cooking in my own world).  HA!  I am going to change this.  I have already been reading lots of blogs and making a word document of recipes I want to make when I move.  I think this will also be a great way to keep myself busy.

To hold myself accountable for these new changes I want to make in my life, I have you, blog.  I will be posting about any new craft projects I have, and any new recipes I make.  I will also be posting about running and fitness goals.

I am really excited about these new changes in my life!  I am ready for this.

About roadworthrunning

I am a 20-something graduate student pursuing my Doctorate of Audiology. It is a 4 year program, and I am currently in my fourth year, which is an off campus externship year. I will be spending it in a new place, Arizona! I will blog about food, health, exercise and life! Come along with me on my journey.
This entry was posted in Arizona, Food, I'm moving, Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Roommates, Crafts and Food

  1. I can’t wait to see what you make! Post pictures! 🙂 And good luck living alone!

  2. Emily says:

    Living alone is awesome! At least I thought so 😉 So is cooking… and I’ve always thought crafting would be, but have never been good at it!

    Exciting you’re moving to Arizona! But in the summer? JK I moved here in August… its not that bad 🙂

    • Thanks so much for the comment! I’m excited to live alone, as long as I don’t get too lonely! I am moving there in mid July…it will be rough but at least the winters will be worth it! How long have you lived there for?!

  3. ashley says:

    roommates are hard to come by..

  4. scrapscribe says:

    I know how you feel! Long story short, I’ve always had people in the house with me, got married recently, and now my wife is away for the week and I’m soooo bored at home. Lol. You DO get used to it though! As others have said, cooking is great when you’re alone. You can have different friends over and make meals. Or try new ones yourself. 🙂 I’m a grad student (going for Engligh PhD) so I’m down for the journey! Looking forward to what you have to say. 🙂

Leave a Reply

