Winter “Wonderland”

This is by far the worst winter that I remember in all my years of winters.  Well, maybe that is because we haven’t had bad winters the past two years, and this winter is certainly making up for it.  The amount of snow and snow days that we have had is ridiculous.  I have a Tuesday class once a week, and I have only had it once so far since the beginning of the semester (I should have had it three times by now).  It’s crazy!  The more and more snow we get, the more and more positive I am that I made the right decision in moving to AZ next year.  I need a change and to get away from this crazy weather!

In all this free “me time” I have had stuck inside, I have been able to do a lot of thinking.  I also bought a journal and have really enjoyed writing in it.  I miss good old fashioned writing.   One thing I have learned from it is that I am an awful speller and rely on spell checker way too much.  I’ve really never been a great speller, but now it is really evident.  I think we all rely on computers way too much now-a-days.

Anyways, I have been doing a lot of thinking on friendships and what constitutes a friend.  Growing up, I always considered myself to be friendly with everyone.  I was never in a “clique” and really got along with most of the crowds, kind of like a “floater.”  I always had some very close friends though that I would do everything with.  I’ve never had very many “guy” friends either.  It’s funny to think about how quickly friends can change.  When you graduate from high school, you automatically make a new group of friends in college.  Now-a-days with facebook and email, it’s easy to stay in contact and keep close with “old” friends.  Usually though, you hang out and do the most things with people that you live near and are close with at one particular moment in your life.  I have had MANY different friends throughout my life, a lot of whom I considered myself to be very close with at the time.  Now, though, I can’t say I am still close with them.  A lot of us still keep in touch, and “hang out” every once in awhile, but are they still my close friends?  Not really.  I still trust and love them, but I really don’t see them very much, nor do I talk to them very much.  Friends are ALWAYS changing, and it is kind of one of the beautiful things in life.  I love meeting new people and making new friends.  Right now, I feel so blessed with the friends I have. This year in particular has been so wonderful for me and my close friendships.  It is one of the things that will make it hard for me to leave Massachusetts, but I know in my heart that I will stay close with a lot of these people I have become very close with this year.

There is my random thought of the day!  Tell me about you.  Do you have friends that you have had since 1st grade?

Edited to Add: check out my fabulous roommate’s blog for pictures of the storm!

About roadworthrunning

I am a 20-something graduate student pursuing my Doctorate of Audiology. It is a 4 year program, and I am currently in my fourth year, which is an off campus externship year. I will be spending it in a new place, Arizona! I will blog about food, health, exercise and life! Come along with me on my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Winter “Wonderland”

  1. lowandbhold says:

    This winter has been MISERABLE! Arizona will be a nice change 🙂

Leave a Reply

