Running

I could write a book on my experiences with running and how I started, etc etc etc, but I won’t!  I’ll be brief, or as brief as I can be.  I started running in May 2007, and I ran to lose weight.  I had about 40 pounds to lose, and I knew that diet wouldn’t be enough, so I started to run.  I started with 2 miles a day, and then slowly kept increasing my mileage.  The funny thing is, that it worked, crazy, huh?  Diet and exercise, who would have thought!

Well, it worked a little bit TOO well!!!  By the time I finished college and started grad school, I was at an unhealthy weight.  I was too skinny, and everyone around me was talking about it. At the time, I didn’t realize it, and thought “heck, nothing is wrong with me, I eat all the time, I just run a lot!”  My mom made me talk to a nutritionist to figure out how I could gain a couple pounds, and low and behold, I did.  I started adding more fats into my diet and eating bigger portions.  I think my problem is that I was always in “weight loss mode” and I never knew how to get out of it.

Here is me when I was very skinny (well, at least I think so now looking back):

Okay, now back to running.  So I started in May of 2007, and I honestly haven’t stopped.  I can’t remember the last time I have taken more than 2 days off of exercise since then, that is until recently.  Since I have been back at school, I have had ZERO motivation to not work out, and I gave myself permission not to.  I went a week and a half without running of any kind, which is the longest I have gone in forever.  I felt weird, and out of place.  I felt like I was missing something, but at the same time, it felt GOOD to not have to run.  I went to the gym for the first time yesterday and ran 4 and a half miles.  I was soo happy after the run.  I felt like I was me again!  Now today I went and ran 5 miles.  I am so happy I gave myself that break.  It might not have been very long, but it was exactly what I needed. 🙂

About roadworthrunning

I am a 20-something graduate student pursuing my Doctorate of Audiology. It is a 4 year program, and I am currently in my fourth year, which is an off campus externship year. I will be spending it in a new place, Arizona! I will blog about food, health, exercise and life! Come along with me on my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Running

  1. jen says:

    Sometimes a little break is all we need! And I loved your reasons to run! It’s good to just leave it all out there.

Leave a Reply

