New Years Thoughts

Wow.  Happy 2011 everyone!  It really feels like I was just celebrating 2010.  Where does time go?  I have to admit, I have mixed feelings when it comes to New Years.  The whole “New Years Resolution” thing has never made much sense to me, and I have honestly never made one.  This year is a little different though.  I really want to work on being a better, kinder and less selfish person.  I don’t really feel like that is a “resolution” per se, but it is something that I am going to strive toward.  It is so easy to become selfish in this world, and I have to admit that I am guilty as charged.  My goal is to become more aware of when I am being selfish, and try to change it.

Let’s reflect on 2010, shall we?  There are some things that I am not ready to talk about on the blog, but let’s just say 2010 has been life changing.  As quickly as it passed by, I can quite honestly say that I am not the same girl as I was one year ago.  So many wonderful, amazing things have happened in 2010:

  • I finished another year of graduate school, and truly fell in love with Audiology in the process;
  • I had some amazing off campus placements for school and in the process met some great people;
  • I gained one of my best friends and said good bye to her as well as she moved to Rochester, NY (don’t worry, I know I will see her again soon, she is one of the most inspirational people I know);
  • I spent a week in the Beautiful state of Colorado and met up with my best friend Jenn;
  • I had my friendship grow with Jenn too and realized how thankful I am to have her in my life (Okay, maybe this didn’t happen in 2010, but our friendship is stronger now!)
  • I met one of my very best friends, Brooke, who is constantly inspiring to me on a daily basis, my life will never be the same;
  • I fell in love
  • I had my heart broken, but in the process realized that everything truly happens for a reason, and there was a reason for that heart break.
  • I became closer to God.
  • I realized that life is very unpredictable and one must live in the moment instead of fretting about the future
  • I started to truly feel happy with myself and with my life.
  • I started smiling and laughing more
  • I became a better person
  • I gained at least 15 pounds, but it was 15 healthy pounds, and I feel a million times better
  • I fell in love with the states of Colorado and Arizona
  • I secured a fourth year externship placement for graduate school
  • I realized more than ever how important friends and family are to me
  • I became even closer to my best friend in the entire world, my mom.
  • I realize right now that I am talking about myself a lot, dang this selfishness….
  • AND many, many, many more things….

2010 really was an amazing year.  I definitely had my fair share of trials, but nothing that I can’t handle, and they made me a better and stronger person.

2011 is going to be a big year of change for me.  I am so ready and excited for the change, but also realize that in the process I am going to go through some difficult times, but the difficult times will once again make me  stronger.  Some amazing things are going to happen in 2011.  I already know it, and I really can’t wait!  Life is such a journey, but I couldn’t be more thankful for it.

Thanks for reading!  What are your 2011 goals?  What were some of your 2010 highlights?

About roadworthrunning

I am a 20-something graduate student pursuing my Doctorate of Audiology. It is a 4 year program, and I am currently in my fourth year, which is an off campus externship year. I will be spending it in a new place, Arizona! I will blog about food, health, exercise and life! Come along with me on my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Years Thoughts

Leave a Reply

