Thanksgiving Race Recap

This is my third year running the Whitinsville 5 mile race on Thanksgiving day.  Every year, my friend Erika, my dad and I wake up early on Thanksgiving morning to run in this race.  I am always amazed at the huge turn-out, and the amount of elite runners at this race.  This year, there were over 800 people registered.  We were joking that everyone that runs in a race on Thanksgiving must be a dedicated runner because the night before is the biggest party night of the year!

In 2008, I believe my finishing time was somewhere around 45 minutes, which I was proud of.  In 2009, I finished in 41:59.9.  I was so proud of my 8:20ish minute/mile pace that I maintained throughout the whole race.  I felt strong and in the end I was proud.  I felt like there was no way I could ever beat that pace this year.  Since I have not been running as much this year, and  have also gained some healthy weight, I went into the race this year thinking that I wanted to finish between 43 minutes and 45 minutes.  I even had a dream the night before the race that I didn’t beat my time from last year, and was okay with it.

Erika and I started off the race at a good pace.  We don’t like to go with the crowd who sprints in the beginning and then dies down.  I believe we finished our first mile in 8 minutes and 37 seconds.  I felt good, and had no intentions of speeding up.  I just wanted to finish the race.  Around mile 2.5, I saw my dad ahead of me (we did not start the race together, so I had no idea where he was in the pack).  I could NOT let this happen, so of course I sprinted by him and said “oh my gosh dad, how were you ahead of me, see ya!!!”  Everyone around me laughed!  That was just the motivation I needed.  From then on, I had a new mentality for this race, to prove something to myself and that I COULD beat my time from last year.  Usually every year, Erika and I run together, but this year I started to pull ahead of her.  I felt bad and kept looking back to see if I could see her, but I really wanted to beat my time, so I kept trucking.  I ended up finishing the 5 miles in 40 minutes and 53 seconds!  That is a pace of 8:11 minute/miles.  I was so proud!  I was seriously gleeming of joy as I crossed the finish line!  I love racing, I really do.  It’s funny because I always say that i’m not a racer and I run for myself, but every time I finish any kind of race I am on could 9.  I LOVE it!  Half marathon, here I come!!!!

I hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving.   I am thankful for more this year than I have ever been thankful for in my life.  The small things in life that often go unappreciated are always thought of and thanked on this holiday.  I want to make sure that I continue to give thanks throughout the year and make sure that I don’t take things for granted.  I’m a lucky girl, and I really could not ask for more right now!

About roadworthrunning

I am a 20-something graduate student pursuing my Doctorate of Audiology. It is a 4 year program, and I am currently in my fourth year, which is an off campus externship year. I will be spending it in a new place, Arizona! I will blog about food, health, exercise and life! Come along with me on my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thanksgiving Race Recap

  1. Ashley says:

    at least it wasnt snowing.. until now.

Leave a Reply

