Half Marathon

Ever since I was a young girl, I have always been very competitive and have always loved a good challenge.  When I took on running 3 years ago, I always did it just for me, and not to prove anything to anyone.  It was always kind of nice to have a relaxed view of running and not feel competitive for once.  I’ve done a couple races here and there, but never took it too seriously.  Last year on Thanksgiving, I surprised myself with running a 5 mile race in 41 minutes.  I felt great the whole time and actually loved the feeling of racing!
Lately, running has been boring me and I haven’t had the healthiest relationship with it.  I do it just to do it, because I can’t imagine life without it.  I don’t run with an ipod, so these past couple of weeks have made running torturous.  I am consumed with terrible thoughts my entire run and almost lose my breath from anxiety.  It hasn’t been fun.

So, what’s a girl to do in that situation?  Challenge herself, man up, and sign up for a half marathon!  You see, I have always wanted to run a half marathon, because I know I can do it, but I have never really had the motivation to do it.  This is the perfect time for me to set a goal for myself and have fun with running.  I am looking forward to having a training schedule and pushing myself hard.  I have a goal to finish it in under 2 hours.  For my first half marathon, that might be really hard to accomplish, but I would be so proud of myself if I could.

The race I want to run is in January, and it is in the beautiful Naples, Florida.  My parents recently purchased a condo in Naples, so this race is perfect.  It is the day after my birthday and 2 days before I go back to school.  I don’t think I could ask for better timing!

I am excited to take you all along on my journey!

About roadworthrunning

I am a 20-something graduate student pursuing my Doctorate of Audiology. It is a 4 year program, and I am currently in my fourth year, which is an off campus externship year. I will be spending it in a new place, Arizona! I will blog about food, health, exercise and life! Come along with me on my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Half Marathon

  1. jennindenver says:

    Do it! Do it! Did you sign up???

Leave a Reply

